Reviews for Thorlos ST

Overall Rating 5/5

Out Of

54

Total Reviews

Too Short!

4 out of 5

03/04/14 | By

I sat down to request an improvement by Thorlos, but before that I decided to read the reviews and see if anyone else had the same complaint. Danged if David D. didn't have the exact suggestion that I have: Increase the length of the sock about 1.5 inches. They are not true "over-the-calf" socks, so the fit, comfort and stay-up-on-your-leg-all-dayability is compromised. And don't think David's height is the problem -- I'm 2 inches shorter (5'-11") with 2 inches less inseam (34") than David, and the socks are too short for me, too. Hopefully the folks at Thorlos read these reviews and correct this one flaw in the product. I've been wearing the Thorlos Trekker socks for many years -- all day, every day. Weddings, funerals and church are about the only events that keep the Trekkers in the drawer. Even though the yarn mix in the Mountaineering socks is a bit different than the Trekkers (more wool in the long socks), they're pretty close. Just wish the Mountaineer was longer.


  • 5 out of 5

    Style: ST

    Best socks for cold weather mountaineering!

    08/25/18 | By

    I have tried many different cold weather socks...and these are hands down the most well constructed, durable and comfortable socks I have worn. I can wear them without a liner sock without fear of blisters. If you wash these socks with fabric softener as recommended, you will enjoy the feel and extend the useful life of the sock. These socks also provide great support to your calves, so they will not tire as easily. Thorlo has not compromised on the quality of their products over the years, they are still as good a quality today as they were a long time ago...and I will continue to buy them!

  • 5 out of 5

    Style: ST

    Most formidable mountain socks with cold weather capability, and extremely well cushioned.

    06/06/18 | By

    These socks are remarkable in their fit, cushioning, shock absorbing, and in their warmth. Most specially in cold weather conditions. I have also employed them in mild weather conditions to increase protection from abrassive boots. I have been using this type of socks since they first came out. They are excellent for militarty settings, and also for extreme field conditions. V/r Pedro Munoz de Oneca

  • 5 out of 5

    Style: ST

    Thorlo Mountaineering socks for, well, mountaineering.

    01/20/17 | By

    I originally bought these at Swallows' Nest in Seattle with my La Sportiva K3 mountaineering boots as they were a perfect fit combination way back in 1995/6. The socks finally started disappearing over the years and I was down to one pair out of the original three. Fit just as good as ever.

  • 4 out of 5

    Style: ST

    Thick

    12/28/16 | By

    These socks are thicker than others. Will keep your feet warm. Feel good on feet. Will probably buy more like these.

  • 5 out of 5

    Style: ST

    very nice socks

    09/10/16 | By

    Comfortable and we'll protected.

  • 5 out of 5

    Style: ST

    Best for cold weather and comfort

    12/05/15 | By

    Ah! The Thorlo Mountaineering socks. I first came to know these wonderful socks as they were issued to us at the USMC Mountain Warfare School. You know if after decades of itchy wool socks these are what are being used there, they are the best. My feet loved them. They don't fall down, they give you cushion in all the right places, and they are warm even if a little moist. Expensive, sure. But, worth it. I wore out the ones I bought 7 years ago in the military, and just replenished my supply for ski/ hunt season in the Midwest. You won't be disappointed. I've tried many brands of cold weather socks, & these are the only ones which last and work.

  • 5 out of 5

    Style: ST

    Best socks ever! Love,love,love them !

    10/18/15 | By

    Wonderful!!!!!!

  • 5 out of 5

    Style: ST

    Mountainerring socks

    03/25/15 | By

    nice

  • 5 out of 5

    Style: ST

    Perfect for over the timberline trekking

    12/17/14 | By

    I bought my first pair of Thorlo Mountaineering Socks close to 30 years ago and I'm happy to say the quality has stayed the same. In a time when most of our favorite brands have all gone downhill, Thorla continues to provide top quality socks. When I first started hiking I took a long time looking for a good hiking boot but didn't pay much attention to the socks. After complaining about blisters and sore feet someone recommended Thorlos so I (skeptically) gave them a try. I never wore another brand of hiking socks again. They really do deliver what they promise. If you want to actually get what you pay for then try these. They do not disappoint.

  • 4 out of 5

    Style: ST

    Too Short!

    03/04/14 | By

    I sat down to request an improvement by Thorlos, but before that I decided to read the reviews and see if anyone else had the same complaint. Danged if David D. didn't have the exact suggestion that I have: Increase the length of the sock about 1.5 inches. They are not true "over-the-calf" socks, so the fit, comfort and stay-up-on-your-leg-all-dayability is compromised. And don't think David's height is the problem -- I'm 2 inches shorter (5'-11") with 2 inches less inseam (34") than David, and the socks are too short for me, too. Hopefully the folks at Thorlos read these reviews and correct this one flaw in the product. I've been wearing the Thorlos Trekker socks for many years -- all day, every day. Weddings, funerals and church are about the only events that keep the Trekkers in the drawer. Even though the yarn mix in the Mountaineering socks is a bit different than the Trekkers (more wool in the long socks), they're pretty close. Just wish the Mountaineer was longer.

Shop with Confidence

All information is encrypted and transmitted without risk using a Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) protocol.

Privacy Policy

Thorlos.com respects your privacy. We don't rent or sell your personal information to anyone.

Read our Privacy Policy