Reviews for Thorlos ST

Overall Rating 5/5

Out Of

45

Total Reviews

Customer Reviews

Write a Review
  • 4/ 5

    Too Short!

    03/04/14 | By

    I sat down to request an improvement by Thorlos, but before that I decided to read the reviews and see if anyone else had the same complaint. Danged if David D. didn't have the exact suggestion that I have: Increase the length of the sock about 1.5 inches. They are not true "over-the-calf" socks, so the fit, comfort and stay-up-on-your-leg-all-dayability is compromised. And don't think David's height is the problem -- I'm 2 inches shorter (5'-11") with 2 inches less inseam (34") than David, and the socks are too short for me, too. Hopefully the folks at Thorlos read these reviews and correct this one flaw in the product. I've been wearing the Thorlos Trekker socks for many years -- all day, every day. Weddings, funerals and church are about the only events that keep the Trekkers in the drawer. Even though the yarn mix in the Mountaineering socks is a bit different than the Trekkers (more wool in the long socks), they're pretty close. Just wish the Mountaineer was longer.

  • 5/ 5

    Best socks for work

    01/19/14 | By

    My son says these are the best. I buy them for him. He is on his feet all day and outdoors as well. He always complained about extreme pain in his feet. I bought him every brand sold. He tried them all. He only wants Thorlo's.

  • 5/ 5

    best for working.

    12/25/13 | By

    i love the feel of these socks,i have been wearing them for over fifteen years.

  • 5/ 5

    Warm and comfortable

    12/23/13 | By

    Best winter socks I've worn. Thorlo's buy 3 get 1 free is just icing on the cake. If you do a lot of outdoor activities in colder climates, these socks will fit the bill.

  • 5/ 5

    Exceptional!

    12/05/13 | By

    I use these socks for evenings at home - they provide relief to tired aching feet and ankles that I never imagined possible. I recomended them to a friend who is a profesional Chef and on his feet all day, and they are a new lease on life for him. Highly recomended, and not just for hiking ! !

  • 5/ 5

    make bad boots fit well and help my mother with her leg spasms

    11/02/13 | By

    I love these socks for their cushioning properties. They make my leather boots feel broken in. I put a pair of silk socks underneath them to totally remove all friction as I walk. My mother is 80 and she has frequent leg spasms. The warmth of these socks helps her greatly. Their cushioning helps her as well. I love your socks and have given them to my friends already as gifts.

  • 5/ 5

    Great product

    07/02/13 | By

    The mountaineering socks (same as hunting socks) are warm, comfortable, and they do stay up in place all day.

  • 5/ 5

    Socks mania

    06/19/13 | By

    Will continue to use these for my busy days where I work on my feet and walk a lot. Flexible, cushioned and plenty of support while keeping feet dry despite their thickness and cushion in points of stress.

  • 4/ 5

    Backpack mountain goat hunt in British Columbia.

    06/11/13 | By

    I bought these socks for a backpack mountain goat hunt in British Columbia. I am testing them with my Kenetrek Mountain Guide 400 boots. I am delighted with these socks except for one thing: they are too short. They need to be at least 1 inch to 1.5 inches taller to be real "over-the-calf" socks. For example, Under Armour Capture OTC socks go right up under my knee. I am 6-1 with 34 inch inseams. I need to add that the customer service at Thorlo is incredible! Everyone I talked to was respectful, and polite. This is very rare in today's world! Big D, Morton, Illinois 6/11/13

  • 5/ 5

    Well made

    02/03/13

    I have worn Thorlos for about 10 years. Great socks for all kinds of activities. I highly recommend Thorlos and they are US made

  • 5/ 5

    MOTORCYCLE RIDERS - THIS IS THE ONE

    01/30/13

    My husband and I ride through the cold Kansas winters. The sock we wear is the Thorlo Mountaineering Sock. The double thick layer running up the shin is wonderful, as well as everything else about this sock. We have several different types of Thorlo Socks, but this is the one for cold weather motorcycling.

  • 5/ 5

    superb product !!!

    11/14/12

    Best socks I wore in my life, recommend for those who want high-quality socks really - really worth every penny.

  • 5/ 5

    best socks in the world

    07/16/11

    I use these around the aspen Colorado area climbing,backpacking,hiking,fly fishing and every day with hiking boots at work as I am a produce manager there great with crocs, I bought my first pairs 20 years ago

  • 5/ 5

    comfort and long wearing

    03/23/11

    I have two pairs I bought some 20 years ago. I wear them for climbing with double-boots. Although the heals are down to mesh they have served me very well. Durable and comfortable. high recommendations for mountaineering applications.

  • 5/ 5

    Great Socks

    03/13/11 | By

    I just love these. All of the cushioning is great and in the right places.

  • 5/ 5

    Thorlo comes through again!

    03/08/11

    I bought the mountaineering socks for a winter trip to Yellowstone. With a liner and my trusty -40 boots, these socks absolutely did the trick. These are a joy to wear!

  • 5/ 5

    thorlo scoks are the best socks i have ever worn

    02/27/11

    i like the thick cushion

  • 4/ 5

    Well made but not our favorites

    02/02/11

    Not as thick as the Hunting Cold Weather socks which we need to go ice fishing, hunting , working outdoors in sub zero temperatures

  • 5/ 5

    Excellent

    01/15/11

    Not only are these warm blister free socks,they really support ankle & calves muscles. Used 2 days straight.

  • 5/ 5

    Best winter socks I've ever had

    01/02/11 | By

    The Thorlo Mountaineering Socks are much better than any other competitive brands I've tried, mnay of which are $2-$4/pair more. My last 2 pair of these socks lasted 7 years and now I've purchased 3 more during the Xmas sales and got a 4th pair free from Thorlo. These are A+++ in every respect.

  • 5/ 5

    Extremely comfortable.

    12/15/10 | By

    My other HD winter socks are a pain to put on. ST has just enough stretch to be easy on, but remain snug enough for that good warm feeling I look for.

  • 5/ 5

    very comfortable -- they don't slip down

    10/30/10

    I've had 1 pair of these socks for years and have worn them out beyond recognition. Glad I've found them, I bought 5 more pair.

  • 5/ 5

    Best Socks I've Ever Worn

    10/24/10 | By

    Well-cushioned and comfortable, I've worn these socks in work boots for twelve straight hours and when I take my boots off my feet are as dry and odor-free as when I put the socks on that morning. My all-time favorite socks.

  • 5/ 5

    cold weather socks

    10/22/10

    I gave these socks to my son about 3 yrs ago. He lives in snow country and works outside. He had never worn socks like these before. These are the only socks he will wear now and after 3 years they are just now getting thin at the toes. He's getting more for chirstmas this year.

  • 5/ 5

    Will be buying more Thorlo's soon.

    09/01/10

    I recently purchased a few pairs of the Mountaineering socks for my friend who is planning on climbing Kilamanjaro in Sept. He loves them !! While he's training on 14ners in CO. he no longer experiences blisters. Great product!

  • 5/ 5

    Great sock if you on your feet all day!

    06/17/10

    On my feet much of the day, and even here in the Sunny south, it's a great choice. Fibers don't crush like wool, but my feet are still dry when I take my socks off after a long hot day.

  • 5/ 5

    Thorlo is simply the best

    06/10/10 | By

    My main complaint with this type of sock is that they are too bulky and don't hold their shape. Not true for these, they are bulky where needed and I still feel my heel cradled even after a long day of trekking and even if I have to remove my boots and put them back on at camp, for example

  • 5/ 5

    Incomparable !

    05/20/10

    I have been backpacking for over 50 years and have never experienced a more comfortable hiking sock. This sock, in combination with the Thin Cushion Liner Sock, is comfortable in summer, warm in winter and virtually eliminates any thought of blisters. I am a customer for life. If I should keep on backpacking for another 50 years I will never consider wearing any other combination of foot protection. Jerry P. Cram, Sr.

  • 5/ 5

    Good socks

    03/14/10

    These are very cmfortable and warm.

  • 5/ 5

    No others...

    02/13/10 | By

    No other socks should even be considered during winter. It's a shame they aren't available in other colors.

  • 5/ 5

    Really warm and thick

    02/11/10

    Great inside rubber rain boots for warmth.

  • 5/ 5

    Best socks I have ever purchased.

    01/28/10 | By

    I found these socks 10 years ago. Very few shops carry them so I usually have to order them. These socks are better wet then most socks are dry. They last through many outings and washing. I wear them winter and summer. They are warm in the winter and wick away moisture in the summer. I buy my boots and basketball shoes to accommodate their extra thickness. I have introduced them to many people and they all agree after trying them that there is no other comparative sock we have found so far.

  • 5/ 5

    MY ONLY SOCK BRAND

    01/13/10

    tHESE ARE THE BEST SOCKS FOR THE VARIOUS ACTIVITIES I'M INVOLVED WITH ON A DAILY BASIS.

  • 5/ 5

    fantastic socks

    01/10/10 | By

    Love these socks. They are so warm and well cushioned.

  • 5/ 5

    Rucking

    12/16/09 | By

    Best socks for humping around a rucksack. If you buy them and your boots are too small, throw your boots out and get bigger ones.

  • 5/ 5

    Warm and cushiony

    10/08/09 | By

    The title say it all - great socks for warmth and comfort.

  • 5/ 5

    Very Soft & Comfortable

    06/27/09 | By

    Besides being very warm for my cold feet in winter, they are super soft and comfortable.

  • 5/ 5

    My feet have never been happier...!

    05/14/09 | By

    The title says it all.

  • 4/ 5

    Nice in Winter

    01/29/09 | By

    great comfort, just as I expect from Thorlo... as a big & tall guy, however, I'd like a little more height over the calf

  • 5/ 5

    Give the gift of socks

    01/20/09 | By

    Socks, like other important gear, can make or break a day of ice-fishing or hunting deer. These socks allow me to put on just one pair and stay warm. I like them so much, I gave a pair to a trapper friend of mine, a bird hunter friend of mine, and my brother in northern Wisconsin. Each of them has thanked me several times and have inquired about how to order more. John F in upstate NY

  • 5/ 5

    I LOVE THEM

    01/19/09 | By

    PURCHASED THEM FOR MYSELF AND IT WAS INSTANT LOVE (MY FEET ARE ALWAYS COLD) NOT ANYMORE MY SON SOMETIMES WORKS NIGHTS IN LAW ENFORCEMENT AND COMPLAINS ABOUT THE COLD (SOCKS FOR XMAS) AND HE SAID THEY WERE GREAT!!!

  • 5/ 5

    Winter Comfort!

    01/03/09 | By

    I LOVE these socks and wear them ALL winter. A nice padded cushion that wicks away moisture (I've even run out in the snow in my socks to put out bird seed and they moisture wicks away instantly)....Over the calf for extra warmth but not so tight to be uncomfortable, which is my complaint about other brands. They are nice and warm so my feet are NEVER cold. If my feet are warm, I'm warm and they are washable and durable too.... These are a dream.

  • 5/ 5

    Great socks for hiking and hunting

    12/08/08 | By

    I have used these socks for heavy duty hiking for the last 3 years, they work great. Good workmanship, the toe seam is out of the way and does not cause problems, the fit is good and I am able to buy socks that actually fit my feet. I wear the liner socks also, and am able to get 10 mile hikes in the mountains without getting blisters with the right boot and sock combination. I live in Texas where it is hot, I need the cushion these socks provide, they work fine even for a 6 mile hike at 95 F. Thanks for the great product!

  • 5/ 5

    Thickest socks I could find

    11/03/08 | By

    I needed thick socks to protect my feet in heavy-duty hiking boots. These were the thickest ones I could find. They are well made and seem like they're holding up to rough conditions. My only caveat is that obviously you wouldn't want to wear these if the temperature is over 60 degrees or your feet will cook. They are not as soft on the inside against your foot as one other big brand, but the other ones didn't have the same degree of cushioning where I needed it.

  • 5/ 5

    Unmatched Quality

    08/28/08 | By

    I've worn this type of sock for the last 14 years. My line of work keeps me in my boots for long shifts and for several days without interuption. These socks have never let me down, 4 pairs are still in service from when they were purchased 14 years ago. I am certain none of my gear has lasted as long as these socks have- nothing has held up to the abuse dished out as exceptionally as my Thorlo socks.

Shop with Confidence

All information is encrypted and transmitted without risk using a Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) protocol.

Privacy Policy

Thorlos.com respects your privacy. We don't rent or sell your personal information to anyone.

Read our Privacy Policy